Date: | March 10, 2006

Resolution No.: | 2006-001

Motion by:

Seconded by:

RESOLUTION 2006-001; SUBMITTING TO THE STATE AUDITOR PROPOSED MANDATES
FOR CONSIDERATION OF REPEAL OR REFORM

WHEREAS, Minnesota Statutes §6.79 allows local governments to submit to the State Auditor mandate
reform proposals; and

WHEREAS, mandate reform proposals will be listed on the State Auditor's website, along with the
name of the local government submitting the proposal; and

WHEREAS, the Scott County Association on Leadership and Efficiency supports the concept of
mandate reform and urges the Minnesota Legislature to give serious consideration to all proposals made by
local governments;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Scott County Association on Leadership and Efficiency
hereby submits the following mandates to the State Auditor, along with the Statute citations and comments, as
candidates for repeal or reform:

Mandate

Statute/Rule

Comments

Totally State-Fund
Continued Health
Insurance for
Disabled Peace
Officers

MS §229A.465

Cities are required to continue health benefits to police
officers and firefighters injured in the line of duty.
Initially, the state reimbursed cities for the full costs of
complying with this requirement. Since 2003, the state
has pro-rated reimbursements to affected cities based
on the amount available and the number of eligible
applicants. The 2003 law change resulted in significant
and unanticipated costs to cities.

Provide State-
Funding to Local
Governments for

MN Session Laws,
2005 Reg Ses.,
Chapter 136,

Despite increased reliance on 911 surcharge revenues
to finance the cost of state bonds to be sold to continue
to build-out of ARMER, the statewide public safety radio

800 MHz Public Article 1, Sec. 9, communications backbone, only a small portion of that

Safety Radio and | Subd. 8 financing is available to aid cities to build subsystems for

Communications local public safety communications that will provide

System interoperable communications with other jurisdictions.
To date, the Legislature has not addressed how cities
and counties will be able to afford to obtain the means
necessary (communications infrastructure improvements
and portable and mobile radio equipment) to obtain such
coverage.

Remove Fee Limit | MS §16B.63 Current law limits permit fees to $15 or 5 percent,

for Minor whichever is greater, for improvement, installation or

Residential replacement of a residential fixture or appliance that

Improvements does not modify electric or gas service, has a labor cost




Mandate

Statute/Rule

Comments

and Equalization

starting January 1, 2006. This imposes a burden on the
(at least) one member of the Board who must attend
training in order to become certified. Staff members
should be able to be relied upon to provide the technical
expertise.

Repeal the Truth MS §275.065 State law requires jurisdictions to provide pre-notification
In Taxation of property tax changes, newspaper advertisements,
Requirement for multiple special hearings, and compliance with state
Mailing Parcel- rules. Jurisdictions must certify a proposed levy amount
Specific Notices; by September 15, and with few exceptions, are not
Eliminate the allowed to increase this amount. Jurisdictions must also
Required Truth In pay a proportional share of the counties’ costs of
Taxation Hearing preparing and mailing parcel specific notices. While the
and Published intent of the law was to provide an opportunity for
Hearing Notice taxpayers to become involved in the budgeting process,
in reality the hearings are held too late to make an
impact. In addition, few taxpayers appear each year,
and may question things not related to the hearing, such
as property valuation.
Minutes MS §375.12 Allowing web publication in lieu of newspaper publication
Publication of county board minutes would save taxpayer dollars
while preserving or even enhancing public access to this
information.
Financial MS §375.169 and Allow counties to publish their annual budget summary

Statement &
Budget Publication

MS §375.17

and financial statements on their website rather than in
the official newspaper; or allow a more condensed
format (summarized statements). Allowing web
publication in lieu of newspaper publication would save
taxpayer dollars while preserving or even enhancing
public access to this information.

Eliminate Library

MS §134.34 and

Eliminate the requirement that in order to receive state

Maintenance of §134.341 grant a county must budget for library operations an

Effort amount equal to the 2™ prior year's level of support
unless adjusted net tax capacity decreases. When one
area of the budget is off limits to reductions, other
programs or services and their recipients unfairly bear a
disproportionately greater share of any cutbacks when
they occur.

Eliminate the MS §279.09 Eliminate the requirement for the second publication of

Second the delinquent tax list. Eliminating this requirement

Publication of the would reduce the cost of collecting delinquent taxes.

Delinquent Tax

List

Allow All Counties | MS §6.48 Not all counties have been provided the opportunity by

the Option of the State Auditor to use a private CPA firm for the audit.

Bidding Out the Every county should have the opportunity to potentially

Annual Audit to lower its costs.

Private CPA Firms

Eliminate the MS §297A.61, This is a situation of one government taxing another.

Requirement That | §297A.62; This requirement was enacted in the 1990s during the

Local §297A.63; state budget crisis. Continuation of this requirement is a

Governments Pay | §297B.01, shift of the tax burden from a consumption tax to the




Mandate

Statute/Rule

Comments

Permit Fees

of $500 or less, and is done by the homeowner or a
licensed contractor. The limiting of permit charges may
not accurately reflect the actual cost of providing the
service.

Amend Employer
Reference
Disclosure of
Personnel Data By
Public Employer

MS §181.967,
subd. 4

Amend Subdivision 4 to reflect the conditions in
Subdivision 3 under which private employers may
disclose personnel data. Current law regulates city
disclosure of employment information regarding current
and former employees, requiring that disclosure
procedures and policies be implemented to assure that
information provided is complete and accurate; that
disclosure of information regarding acts of violence, etc.
are to be provided only in writing; that the city obtained
authorization from current or former employees to the
release of such information prior to disclosing public
personnel data, evaluations conducted prior to
separation and employee responses, employee’s
personnel record and reasons (in writing)for employment
separation; and provide current and former employees
by mail a copy of employment information disclosed and
to whom it was disclosed.

Amend State
Zoning Standards

MS §462.357

Local zoning decisions for manufactured homes, group
homes, earth-sheltered homes, etc., are limited by the
state in current law. This statute should be amended to
allow these decisions to be made at the local level.

Repeal Biodiesel
Fuel Mandate

MS §239.77

Current law requires that fuel sold in the state after June
30, 2005, for use in internal combustion engines, contain
a minimum of two percent of biodiesel fuel by volume.
This requirement could increase fuel costs and/or
maintenance costs for affected vehicles. The concern is
that the fuel may not be totally comparable to "regular”
diesel fuel, both in terms of performance and
maintenance.

Repeal Mandate
to Purchase from
Corrections
Industries

MS §16B.181

A 1998 law change requires the state and all political
subdivisions to purchase only from MINNCOR when
purchasing the products MINNCOR produces. This
requirement was effective the year 2000 if the state and
political subdivisions fail to meet a purchasing quota —
the quota has not yet been established. MINNCOR
products should have to compete with other vendors.

Repeal Nonvisual
Technology
Access Standards

MS §16C.145

A 1998 law mandates the state and all political
subdivisions to require all technology hardware and
software purchases and upgrades to satisfy non-visual
technology standards that exceed the America Disability
Act (ADA) requirements. This mandate requires the
purchase of technology that is either not yet available or
is cost prohibitive. Reasonable accommodations for
disabled voters have been provided in the past, and the
mandated cost of upgrading to a new type of system
which is not yet widely available is not warranted at this
time.

Repeal Training
Mandate for Local
Boards of Appeal

MS §274.014

Requires that at least one member of the local boards of
review must attend an appeals and equalization course
developed or approved by the commissioner of revenue




Mandate

Statute/Rule

Comments

State Sales and §297B.02; property tax.

Use Taxes §297.03

No Further MS §273.11, subd. | The sunset date for limited market value has been
Adjustment to 1a adjusted over previous legislative sessions. Uncertainty
Timeline For over the timeline for phase out of limited market value

Phase Out of
Limited Market
Value

delays planning and preparation for the phase out by
county assessors as well as for property owners.

Increase State Aid
Proportionally for
Public Employees
Retirement
Association
Employer
Contribution Rate
Increases

MS §273.1385

Increase state aid to government jurisdictions at a
minimum proportionally to employer contribution rate
increases for the Public Employees Retirement
Association. Increasing state aid proportionally both
acknowledges jurisdictions’ responsibility for contributing
to employees’ retirement and reflects the state’s
responsibility for rate changes made at the state level.

Totally State-Fund
Placement of
State Short-Term
Offenders in
County Jails

MS §609.135 and
MS §609.105

Fully fund county costs to house the placement of State
short-term (180 days or less) felony offenders in county
jails. Incarceration of felony offenders had always been
a state responsibility. County jails are ill-suited to
provide the supervision and programming needed for
these serious offenders.

Totally State-Fund

MS §2608B.130

Fully fund the EJJ program that keeps serious offenders

Extended out of the adult system and within the juvenile system
Jurisdiction until age 21. Diversion to the juvenile system imposes
Juvenile substantial out of placement costs on counties.
Eliminate MR 9543.0060 Scott County is proposing elimination of the requirement
Requirement of Subp. 5B that the licensor “coordinate with placement workers to
Coordinating With ensure that the license holder is visited by a placement
Placement worker or the licensor at least monthly for the first six
Workers the months after the first placement in child foster care.”
Visiting of Foster This requirement places an administrative burden for
Care License documentation on the county without providing a positive
Holders After First outcome for the children placed. Current regulations for
Placement in Child children in placement as well as evidence based practice
Foster Care assures frequent and case specific contact between
children in placement, providers and social workers
which is documented in the child’'s record. Additional
documentation requirements in the foster care records
are time consuming and provide no added benefit.
The same licensing requirements apply to respite
providers as to ongoing foster care providers. Some
respite homes may be used infrequently so that monthly
visits have no purpose if there are no children currently
using the home.
Delegate to MS §245A.07 Scott County is proposing that authority to impose
Counties the MR 9502.0315- sanctions on a license, except temporary immediate
Authority to 9502.0445 suspensions, be delegated to the county. Currently, the

Impose Sanctions
on a Child Care
License Except
for Temporary
immediate

county is required to investigate all rule and statute
violations pertaining to licensed family and group family
child care businesses. If the county determines that
there is failure on behalf of the licensed program to
comply with Minnesota Rule 9502 or the terms of




Mandate

Statute/Rule

Comments

Suspensions

licensure which adversely affect the health and safety of
the children in care, the county only has the authority to
recommend a negative licensing action to the
Department of Human Services. Once the
recommendation has been made to the Department,
there is often a time delay of several weeks to several
months before an order is issued by the State, thus
children may continue to be served in unsafe
environments. The county attorney is required to
represent the commissioner in contested case
proceedings and in reviewing and approving of county
licensing recommendations before forwarding to the
Department of Human Services.

Adopted by Consensus Vote of Members
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