Other Minnesota State and Local Government sites | Employment Opportunities | Home

The Program

In 2010, the Legislature created the Council on Local Results and Innovation. In February 2011, the Council released a standard set of ten performance measures for counties and ten performance measures for cities to aid residents, taxpayers, and state and local officials in determining the efficacy of counties and cities in providing services and measure the residents’ opinions of those services. In February of 2012, the Council created a comprehensive performance measurement system for cities and counties to implement. In 2013, the Council revised the performance measures and clarified the performance measurement system to decrease confusion and to increase participation in the program.

Cities and counties that choose to participate in the performance measurement program may be eligible for a reimbursement in Local Government Aid (LGA).

Benefits and Reporting Requirements

A county or city that elects to participate in the performance measurement program in 2018 is eligible for a reimbursement of $0.14 per capita, not to exceed $25,000. In order to receive the per capita reimbursement counties and cities must file a report with the Office of the State Auditor (OSA) by July 1. This report consists of:

1) A resolution approved by the city council or county board declaring that:

  • The city/county has adopted and implemented the minimum 10 performance measures from each applicable service category and the system developed by the Council on Local Results and Innovation.
  • The city/county will report the results of the measures to its residents before the end of the calendar year. They may accomplish this through direct mail, posting the results on the entity's website, or through a public hearing at which the budget and levy will be discussed and public input allowed.

2) A document showing the actual results of the performance measures adopted by the city/county.

Participating Cities and Counties

In 2018, 26 cities (3%) and 24 counties (28%) were certified by the OSA to the Minnesota Department of Revenue to receive additional local government aid, a decrease of 6 cities from 2017.

The following cities and counties were successfully certified in 2018.

By clicking on a city or county name, a pdf file will open with a copy of the entity's resolution and survey results.


Apple Valley Austin Avon
Bemidji Bloomington Burnsville
Chaska Circle Pines Coon Rapids
Crystal Eden Prairie Inver Grove Heights
Maplewood Mounds View New Hope
New Ulm Ramsey Robbinsdale
Rogers Saint Cloud Saint Joseph
Saint Louis Park Saint Michael Sartell
Savage Woodbury


Anoka Brown Carver
Clay Dakota Dodge
Fillmore Hennepin Jackson
Kandiyohi Murray Olmsted
Otter Tail Ramsey Renville
Rice Saint Louis Scott
Sherburne Stearns Steele
Washington Winona Yellow Medicine

Privacy Policy | Accessibility Information | © 2019 Office of the Minnesota State Auditor