Other Minnesota State and Local Government sites | Employment Opportunities | Home

The Program

In 2010, the Legislature created the Council on Local Results and Innovation. In February 2011, the Council released a standard set of ten performance measures for counties and ten performance measures for cities to aid residents, taxpayers, and state and local officials in determining the efficacy of counties and cities in providing services and measure the residents’ opinions of those services. In February of 2012, the Council created a comprehensive performance measurement system for cities and counties to implement. In 2013, the Council revised the performance measures and clarified the performance measures system to decrease confusion and to increase participation in the program.

Cities and counties that choose to participate in the new standards measure program may be eligible for a reimbursement in LGA and exemption from levy limits under sections 275.70 to 275.74.

Benefits and Reporting Requirements

A county or city that elects to participate in the standard measures/performance measurement program in 2014 is eligible for a reimbursement of $0.14 per capita, not to exceed $25,000, and is also exempt from levy limits under sections 275.70 to 275.74 for taxes payable in the following calendar year, if such levy limits are in effect. In order to receive the per capita reimbursement and levy limit exemption if applicable, counties and cities must file a report with the Office of the State Auditor by July 1. This report consists of:

1) A resolution approved by the city council or county board declaring that:

  • The city/county has adopted and implemented the minimum 10 performance measures from each applicable service category and the system developed by the Council on Local Results and Innovation.
  • The city/county will report the results of the measures to its residents before the end of the calendar year through publication, direct mailing, posting on the entity's website, or through a public hearing at which the budget and levy will be discussed and public input allowed.

2) The actual results of the performance measures adopted by the city/county.

Participating Cities and Counties

In 2014, 30 cities (4%) and 19 counties (22%) were certified by the Office of the State Auditor to the Minnesota Department of Revenue to receive additional local government aid. In contrast, 47 cities (6%) and 22 counties (25%) were certified by the Office of the State Auditor to the Minnesota Department of Revenue in 2013.

The following cities and counties were successfully certified in 2014.

By clicking on a city or county name, a pdf file will open with a copy of the entity's resolution and survey results.


Austin Bemidji Bloomington
Burnsville Chaska Circle Pines
Coon Rapids Crystal Eagan
Forest Lake Little Canada Madison Lake*
Maplewood Marshall Minneapolis
Montevideo Mounds View New Brighton
New Hope New Ulm Prior Lake
Ramsey Red Wing Rogers
Saint Joseph Saint Michael Sartell
Savage Shorewood Woodbury


Anoka Carver Clay
Dakota Fillmore Hennepin
Jackson Kandiyohi Murray
Olmsted Ramsey Renville
Rice Saint Louis Scott
Sherburne Washington Winona
Yellow Medicine

* -- This is the first year that this entity participated in the program: the pdf contains the resolution only.

Privacy Policy | Accessibility Information | © 2020 Office of the Minnesota State Auditor