Other Minnesota State and Local Government sites | Employment Opportunities | Home

The Program

In 2010, the Legislature created the Council on Local Results and Innovation. In February 2011, the Council released a standard set of ten performance measures for counties and ten performance measures for cities to aid residents, taxpayers, and state and local officials in determining the efficacy of counties and cities in providing services and measure the residents’ opinions of those services. In February of 2012, the Council created a comprehensive performance measurement system for cities and counties to implement. In 2013, the Council revised the performance measures and clarified the performance measures system to decrease confusion and to increase participation in the program.

Cities and counties that choose to participate in the new standards measure program may be eligible for a reimbursement in LGA and exemption from levy limits under sections 275.70 to 275.74.

Benefits and Reporting Requirements

A county or city that elects to participate in the standard measures/performance measurement program in 2013 is eligible for a reimbursement of $0.14 per capita, not to exceed $25,000, and is also exempt from levy limits under sections 275.70 to 275.74 for taxes payable in the following calendar year, if such levy limits are in effect. In order to receive the per capita reimbursement and levy limit exemption if applicable, counties and cities must file a report with the Office of the State Auditor by July 1. This report consists of:

1) A resolution approved by the city council or county board declaring that:

  • The city/county has adopted and implemented the minimum 10 performance measures from each applicable service category and the system developed by the Council on Local Results and Innovation.
  • The city/county will report the results of the measures to its residents before the end of the calendar year through publication, direct mailing, posting on the entity's website, or through a public hearing at which the budget and levy will be discussed and public input allowed.

2) The actual results of the performance measures adopted by the city/county.

Participating Cities and Counties

In 2013, 47 cities (6%) and 22 counties (25%) were certified by the Office of the State Auditor to the Minnesota Department of Revenue to receive additional local government aid. In contrast, 62 cities (7%) and 25 counties (29%) were certified by the Office of the State Auditor to the Minnesota Department of Revenue in 2012. The decrease in participation in 2013 may be due to a change in state law. In 2013, the Legislature passed levy limits for taxes levied in 2013. Cities/counties that were certified for the performance measures program in 2013 are not exempt from these levy limits because they are not codified under sections 275.70 to 275.74. Some cities/counties reported frustration over this legislative change, and did not participate in the program.

The following cities and counties were successfully certified in 2013.

By clicking on a city or county name, a pdf file will open with a copy of the entity's resolution and survey results.


Austin Bemidji Bloomington
Brooklyn Center Champlin Chaska
Circle Pines Coon Rapids Cottage Grove
Eagan Elko New Market Falcon Heights
Faribault* Fergus Falls Forest Lake
Golden Valley Hibbing Little Canada
Maplewood Marshall McGregor
Minneapolis Montevideo New Brighton
New Hope Newport* New Ulm
North Saint Paul Otsego* Pine Island
Prior Lake Proctor Ramsey
Red Wing Richfield Rockford
Rogers Saint Cloud Saint Joseph
Saint Michael Sartell Savage
Shorewood Waite Park Waterville*
Wilton Woodbury


Anoka Carver Chippewa
Dakota Dodge Fillmore
Hennepin Jackson* Kandiyohi
Lyon McLeod Murray
Olmsted Ramsey* Renville
Rice Saint Louis Scott
Sherburne Washington Winona
Yellow Medicine

* Entity did not participate in 2012: the pdf contains the resolution only.

Privacy Policy | Accessibility Information | © 2020 Office of the Minnesota State Auditor