Other Minnesota State and Local Government sites | Employment Opportunities | Home

The Program

In 2010, the Legislature created the Council on Local Results and Innovation. In February 2011, the Council released a standard set of ten performance measures for counties and ten performance measures for cities that will aid residents, taxpayers, and state and local elected officials in determining the efficacy of counties and cities in providing services and measure residents' opinions of those services. In February of 2012, the Council created a comprehensive performance measurement system for cities and counties to implement in 2012. Cities and counties that choose to participate in the new standards measure program may be eligible for a reimbursement in LGA and exemption from levy limits.

Benefits and Reporting Requirements

A county or city that elected to participate in the standard measures program for 2012 is eligible for a reimbursement of $0.14 per capita in local government aid, not to exceed $25,000 and is also exempt from levy limits under sections 275.70 to 275.74 for taxes payable in 2013, if levy limits are in effect. In order to receive the per capita reimbursement in 2012, and levy limit exemption for calendar year 2013, counties and cities had to:

File a report with the Office of the State Auditor by July 1, 2012. The report consisted of:

1) A resolution approved by the city council or county board declaring that:

  • The city/county has adopted and implemented the minimum 10 performance measures developed by the Council on Local Results and Innovation.
  • The city/county has implemented or is in the process of implementing a local performance measurement system as developed by the Council on Local Results and Innovation.
  • The city/county has or will report the results of the 10 adopted measures to its residents before the end of the calendar year through publication, direct mailing, posting on the entity's website, or through a public hearing at which the budget and levy will be discussed and public input allowed.
  • The city/county has or will survey its residents by the end of the calendar year on the services included in the performance benchmarks.

2) The actual results of the performance measures adopted by the city/county. (This component was only required of entities that were certified for the program in 2011).

Participating Cities and Counties

In 2012, there were 62 cities (7%) and 25 counties (29%) that were certified by the Office of the State Auditor to the Minnesota Department of Revenue to receive additional local government aid and an exemption from levy limits if any are in effect. In contrast, 113 cities (13%) and 38 counties (44%) were successfully certified in 2011.

The following cities and counties were successfully certified in 2012.

By clicking on a city or county name, a pdf file will open with a copy of the entity's resolution and survey results.


Apple Valley Aurora Austin
Barnesville Bemidji Bloomington
Brooklyn Center Brooklyn Park Burnsville
Champlin Chaska Chatfield
Circle Pines Coon Rapids Cottage Grove*
Crystal Duluth Eagan
East Grand Forks Edina Elko New Market
Fergus Falls Forest Lake Frazee
Grand Rapids Hanover Hawley
Hermantown Hibbing Little Canada
Luverne Maplewood* Marshall
McGregor Minneapolis Montevideo
Mora Morris New Hope
New Ulm North Saint Paul Pine Island
Prior Lake Proctor Ramsey*
Red Wing Richfield Rockford
Rogers Saint Cloud Saint Joseph
Saint Michael Sartell Savage
Slayton* Thief River Falls Waconia
Waite Park White Bear Lake Willow River
Wilton Woodbury


Anoka Becker Blue Earth
Carver Clay Crow Wing
Dakota Dodge Douglas
Fillmore Hennepin Kandiyohi
McLeod Meeker Murray
Olmsted Otter Tail Renville
Rice Saint Louis Scott
Sherburne Washington Winona
Yellow Medicine

* Entity did not participate in 2011: the pdf contains the resolution only.

Privacy Policy | Accessibility Information | © 2020 Office of the Minnesota State Auditor