Other Minnesota State and Local Government sites | Employment Opportunities | Home

The Program

In 2010, the Legislature created the Council on Local Results and Innovation. In February 2011, the Council released a standard set of ten performance measures for counties and ten performance measures for cities that will aid residents, taxpayers, and state and local elected officials in determining the efficacy of counties and cities in providing services, and measure residents' opinions of those services. Participation in the standard measures program by a city or a county is voluntary. Counties and cities that choose to participate in the standard measures program must officially adopt the 10 performance benchmarks developed by the Council on Local Results and Innovations, and implement them in 2011.

Benefits and Reporting Requirements

A county or city that elected to participate in the standard measures program for 2011 is eligible for a reimbursement of $0.14 per capita in local government aid, not to exceed $25,000 and is also exempt from levy limits under sections 275.70 to 275.74 for taxes payable in 2012, if levy limits are in effect. In order to receive the per capita reimbursement in 2011, and levy limit exemption for calendar year 2012, counties and cities had to:

File a report with the Office of the State Auditor by July 1, 2011. This report consisted of a declaration approved by the city council or county board stating that the city/county had adopted the corresponding 10 performance measures developed by the Council.

Participating Cities and Counties

The following cities and counties elected to participate in the Performance Measures Program, and successfully reported to the Office of the State Auditor. The Office of the State Auditor then certified them to the Department of Revenue.


Albertville Alexandria Andover
Annandale Apple Valley Arden Hills
Aurora Austin Barnesville
Bellingham Bemidji Benson
Bloomington Breckenridge Brooklyn Center
Brooklyn Park Buffalo Burnsville
Byron Cannon Falls Champlin
Chaska Chatfield Chisago City
Circle Pines Cloquet Cohasset
Cokato Columbia Heights Coon Rapids
Crosby Crystal Delano
Detroit Lakes Duluth Eagan
East Grand Forks Edina Elk River
Elko New Market Falcon Heights Fergus Falls
Forest Lake Frazee Goodview
Grand Rapids Hanover Hawley
Hermantown Hibbing Hilltop
Holdingford Jeffers La Crescent
Lake City Lake Elmo Lakeville
Little Canada Luverne Mahtomedi
Mankato Marshall McGregor
McIntosh Minneapolis Montevideo
Montrose Moorhead Mora
Morris New Hope New Prague
New Ulm Newport North Saint Paul
Perham Pine Island Preston
Prior Lake Proctor Red Wing
Remer Richfield Rockford
Rogers Rosemount Rushford Village
Saint Charles Saint Cloud Saint Joseph
Saint Martin Saint Michael Saint Paul
Sartell Sauk Rapids Savage
Shoreview Shorewood Sleepy Eye
South St. Paul Thief River Falls Wabasha
Waconia Waite Park Warroad
West Saint Paul White Bear Lake Willow River
Willmar Wilton Woodbury
Zimmerman Zumbrota


Anoka Becker Beltrami
Blue Earth Carver Chippewa
Clay Crow Wing Dakota
Dodge Douglas Faribault
Fillmore Grant Hennepin
Kanabec Kandiyohi Lyon
McLeod Meeker Mower
Murray Nobles Olmsted
Otter Tail Pope Renville
Rice Rock Roseau
Saint Louis Scott Sherburne
Todd Washington Winona
Wright Yellow Medicine

Privacy Policy | Accessibility Information | © 2019 Office of the Minnesota State Auditor